Herrera Pockets $2,500 with Gulf South at Beaumont

Herrera Pockets $2,500 with Gulf South at Beaumont

BEAUMONT, Texas (May 25, 2014) - For the second time in three days, Johnny Herrera found his way to victory lane with the Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region, topping the Old School Racin' Salute the Troops at the Golden Triangle Raceway Park; a win worth $2,500 to the New Mexico veteran thanks to a $500 bonus for winning two of the weekend's three events.

Travis Rilat jumped to the early advantage, but mechanical problems sidelined the No. 39c on Lap 14, giving the lead to Matt Covington. Utilizing the high line following a red for Kolt Walker on Lap 16, Herrera pulled to the lead on Lap 18 as Matt Covington continued to fight ignition problems but held on for second. Brandon Berryman crossed third with Tommy Bryant and Travis Elliot completing the top five.

Channin Tankersley crossed sixth with Ray Allen Kulhanek coming from eleventh to seventh. After spinning on the opening lap, Blake Hahn came from twenty-second back to his original starting spot of eighth. Klint Angelette climbed from sixteenth to ninth with Chris Sweeny rounding out the top ten.

The Gulf South Region returns to competition on June 6 at the Heart O' Texas and June 7 at the Gator Motorplex. For updates on the American Sprint Car Series, log onto

Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region
Golden Triangle Raceway Park - Beaumont, Texas
Sunday, May 25, 2014

Car Count: 23

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 17-Blake Hahn; 2. 15T-Travis Elliott; 3. 95-Matt Covington; 4. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 5. 19-Klint Angelette; 6. 4J-John James; 7. 66-J.J. Simmons; 8. (DNF) 17W-Harli White
Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 11-Channin Tankersley; 2. 28-Tommy Bryant; 3. 93-Chris Sweeney; 4. 39C-Travis Rilat; 5. 12M-Kolt Walker; 6. 17T-Matt Ward; 7. 36-John Pate; 8. (DNF) 33-Mark Huddleston
Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 31-Brandon Berryman; 2. 45X-Johnny Herrera; 3. 5X-Tyson Hall; 4. 24-Brandie Jass; 5. 29-Mike Walling; 6. 7A-Paul Solomon; 7. 12-Scott Smith

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 45X-Johnny Herrera[1]; 2. 95-Matt Covington[4]; 3. 31-Brandon Berryman[3]; 4. 28-Tommy Bryant[5]; 5. 15T-Travis Elliott[7]; 6. 11-Channin Tankersley[6]; 7. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[11]; 8. 17-Blake Hahn[8]; 9. 19-Klint Angelette[16]; 10. 93-Chris Sweeney[9]; 11. 36-John Pate[20]; 12. 24-Brandie Jass[12]; 13. 29-Mike Walling[15]; 14. 7A-Paul Solomon[18]; 15. 12-Scott Smith[21]; 16. 17T-Matt Ward[17]; 17. (DNF) 12M-Kolt Walker[14]; 18. (DNF) 39C-Travis Rilat[2]; 19. (DNF) 4J-John James[13]; 20. (DNF) 5X-Tyson Hall[10]; 21. (DNF) 66-J.J. Simmons[19]; 22. (DNF) 17W-Harli White[22]; 23. (DNF) 33-Mark Huddleston[23]

Photo Credit: Ron Skinner